In with the Interns- The Search Process

In with the interns

Nicole Pitts, Senior, Mass Communication Major

Internship Location – Make-A-Wish, Georgia

How I found my Internship:

I knew from the start that I wanted to complete my internship with a nonprofit. I went to the website of every nonprofit I could think of and started creating a list of internships that interested me. However, I actually found out about the internship at Make-A-Wish Georgia through the Mass Communication department’s email list. Throughout the year they send internship and job opportunities to all students in the department and Make-A-Wish Georgia happened to be one of them. I got lucky that Make-A-Wish Georgia did their interview and decision making process quickly. I applied at the end of September and accepted the position before the end of October.

Advice for students looking for Internships:

Look for Internships early and often, use your network of contacts and send your resume out everywhere. The worst that will happen is someone will tell you no, but you also might be surprised at who says yes.

My internship experience so far:

I have loved working with Make-A-Wish Georgia. I’m learning a lot, because there is always something to be done. The greatest part is that everyone in the office is interested in what type of jobs the interns are looking for. They truly want to help us network with other people/organizations so we can land jobs after the internship. Also, my supervisor is willing to give me a lot of responsibilities, other than just your typical administrative duties most interns get. I was on conference calls with board members and in meetings with corporate sponsors during my first week on the job!

Are you interested in gaining Internship experience?

Visit the Career Center’s Internship Site to find out more.

Internship Week – March 2-6, 2015

Leave a Reply

