Life of a Senior

Guest Writer: Julia Richardson, Career Peer Advisor, Career Assistant, and Mass Communication Major, Class of 2013

Being a senior in college is not easy. There are so many opportunities thrown at you and questions asked. It is enough to make you decide to do a victory lap!

What to do after graduation? That is the question on every senior’s mind as we end the near of fall semester. What do we DO? Do we apply to graduate school? Get an internship? Start working? Take a year off?  The questions keep coming and they are not getting answered. If you are one of those lucky people who know what they are doing in May 2013, I might despise you. But really I envy you.

I have my immediate future planned out for me being a mass communication major. I need to have an internship set up for the summer in order to graduate. After the summer ends who knows where I will be, and that is what scares me the most.

I am on the search for internships and starting to research is tiring. I attended the internship fair with the Career Center in October, and spoke with some great people. I learned a lot about many different internships, but how do you decide which one to pick?

I am applying to internships over Christmas break, and I plan on attending Intern 101 on November 16 in 102 Chappell Hall at 2 p.m. This will be a great opportunity for me to get advice on how to begin my search and how to begin the application process.

I had some great advice given to me by a former GC student who now works for the Gwinnett Chamber of Commerce. She told me to apply for an internship at your dream job. Why not? Even if it is outlandish to think they would hire you, why not try for it? Now is the time to do what you want. We only have one month and one semester left, and whether or not you are ready, graduation is coming.

Leave a Reply

