Lesson One: It doesn’t matter that you just graduated. You’re still learning.

The following is a peak into life as an intern from our guest intern blogger, Courtney.

 

This entry is a reminder to me and everybody else out there to breathe.

I just completed my first week as an intern and I survived.

Prior to going into The Augusta Chronicle for my first 9 to 5 job, I had a meeting with my internship supervisor to go over the final details for my May 16 start date. She had the best advice I think I could ever get going into this.

“You’re a student. You’re going to mess up. It’s okay.”

At the time I was too nervous to let that sink in, but I’ve gotten to experience it firsthand over the past seven days.

I might be a recent graduate, but I’m still learning. And I’m going to continue to learn. When I mess up, I’m  going to learn from those mistakes and at this point in my life nobody is going to judge me.

These posts from me will be filled with mistakes. I know I’m going to look back on this very entry one day and cringe at all the errors I made, and I hope I do because that means I learned to notice them.

My first lesson to offer you is that you will mess up and that’s okay. You’ll take that mistake with you forever as your own lesson and learn from it.

Leave a Reply

